Doctors, specialist doctors, surgeons and General Practitioners (GPs) work in all areas of healthcare from being hospital based to being in the community. They are responsible for leading the care of their patients and must be registered with the General Medical Council (GMC) to undertake clinical practice.

There are many specialist areas available for example:
• Anaesthetists
• Clinical oncologists
• Clinical radiologists
• Emergency medicine (EM)
• General practitioners (GPs)
• Gastroenterology
• Intensive care medicine (ICM)
• Obstetrics and gynaecology
• Occupational medicine
• Ophthalmology
• Neurology
• Paediatrics
• Pathology
• Psychiatry
• Public health
• Rehabilitation
• Surgery

It is possible to enter at any level with the appropriate employment, qualifications, skills and/or experience. Details on other careers can be found in the Health Careers Website link listed below.

Useful links:
HEE Health Careers:
General Medical Council:
British Medical Association:
Doctors’ Titles: explained:
Being a doctor: